Thakore Foundation Visiting Scholar Award

The Thakore Visiting Scholar Award is presented Annually at Simon Fraser University.  It honours individuals who have devoted their lives to “creativity, commitment, and a deep concern for truth in public life, which includes, but it not limited to, showing the connection between academic values and critical public spirit.”

The award also recognizes commitment to Gandhi’s ideals of truth, non-violence, social justice, religious tolerance, education and ethics in politics.  In addition to these principles, the award adds racial equality and concern for balance between industry and the environment.

The Thakore Visiting Scholar Award has been awarded annually since 1991.

The Following Distinguished International Personalities are the Recipients of the Thakore Visiting Scholar Award

  1. J.S. Broadbent Former Leader of the Federal NDP, 1991
  2. Douglas RocheCanadian UN ambassador for Disarmament Member and human rights expert, 1992
  3. Ovide MercrediFormer first Nations grand Chief and avowed follower of non-violent principles, 1993
  4. Dr. Ursula FranklinA noted Canadian scientist with life long work on the Principles of Mahatma Gandhi, 1994
  5. Ang San Suu KyiBurmese Opposition leader and Nobel Laureate, 1995
  6. George McRobieSmall Scale Technologies Expert, 1996
  7. Dr. Mary Wynne AshworthAn educator in Peace and non- violence, 1997
  8. Marta Gloria Torres Central American Peace activist for human rights, 1998
  9. Thomas Berger Noted Lawyer, Former Chief Justice and human rights advocate, 1999
  10. Medha Patkar Noted satyagrahi who has in the spirit of Gandhi led a successful campiagn against the Sardar Sarovar project, 2000
  11. Lloyd Axworthy, A long time member of parliament well known for his significant contribution to work on the issues of arms control, land mines eradication and human security, 2001
  12. James Lawson, One of the few peace activists who has scientifically studied Mahatma Gandhi’s technique of Non violence and has successfully applied it in the United States, 2002
  13. Dr. Samantha Nutt and Dr. Eric Hoskins from War Child Canada for their dedication in providing humanitarian assistance to the war affected children in Iraq, 2003
  14. Marilyn Gullison, for her dedication to Operation Eyesight and HUGGS Canada, 2004
  15. Michael Clague, for his work in the fields of adult education, social policy and planning, and community development, 2005
  16. Roy Miki, for his long and outstanding work and achievements in the Japanese Canadian redress movement, 2006
  17. James Pau, for his dedication to helping people by alternative medicine, 2007
  18. Free the Children- Marc Kielburger, for its unique work in creating the largest network of children helping children through education, with more than one million young people involved in various programs in 45 countries, 2008
  19. Ela Bhatt, for her longstanding efforts on behalf of poor women in India and for her work in forming the trade union of the Self Employed Women’s Association in India, 2009
  20. Heribert and Kogila Adam, distinguished authors and teachers whose books on peacemaking and non-violent change in South Africa and in divided societies have brought them many honors, 2010
  21. John O’Brian, for his recent work on how the history of the imagery related to the Atomic Bomb has acclimated us to the bomb, 2011
  22. Jim Green, for his commitment to social activism, social housing in Vancouver, 2012
  23. Lee Lakeman, for her work on violence against women, 2013
  24. Jennifer Simons, for her work on nuclear disarmament, 2015
  25. Judy Graves, for her work on helping the homeless, 2016
  26. John Volken, for his work in helping those with addiction, 2017
  27. Jean Augustine, for her work in advancing the rights of women, 2018
  28. Raffi Cavoukian, for his for his lifelong focus on “honouring children,” education, and the promotion of an overall “culture of peace.”, 2019